
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 
  
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

BOARD OF GUIDE DOGS FOR THE BLIND 

Proposed Modified Language 
(Additions from previously proposed text are indicated by double underline. 

Deletions from previously proposed text are indicated by double strikethrough.) 

(1) Amend Section 2262 in Article 1 of Division 22 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations to read as follows: 

2262. License Period. 

(a) A school license expires on April 30th of each calendar year, and unless 
renewed by the date of expiration shall be automatically forfeited and may be reinstated 
or renewed only after payment of the renewal fee. 

(b) An instructor’s license Licenses shall remain in effect for one year after the 
date of issuance, and unless renewed by the date of expiration shall be automatically 
forfeited and may be reinstated or renewed only after compliance with the requirements 
of the Board. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 7200.5, and 7208 and 7211, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 7200.7, 7211, 7211.1 and 7217, Business and Professions 
Code. 

(2) Add Section 2262.1 of Division 22 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to 
read as follows: 

2262.1. Annual School Renewal Payment. 

To renew its license after April 30, 2010, a school shall pay a fee equal to 
0.00425 of all school expenses incurred in the most recently concluded school calendar 
year. The school’s expenses shall be determined from the annual audit required by 
Business and Professions Code section 7217. 

For a school license expiring on or before July 31, 2010, if the renewal payment 
is received on or before April 30, 2010, the school shall pay a fee equal to 0.004 of all 
school expenses incurred in the most recently concluded school calendar year. 

(a) On or before April 30, 2010, the rate for calculating the annual school renewal 
fee pursuant to Section 7200.7 is 0.004 of all school expenses incurred in the most 
recently concluded school calendar year, as determined by the immediately preceding 
fiscal year audit required annually by section 7217 of the Code. 
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(b) After April 30, 2010, the rate for calculating the annual school renewal fee 
pursuant to Section 7200.7 is 0.00425 of all school expenses incurred in the most 
recently concluded school calendar year, as determined by the immediately preceding 
fiscal year audit required annually by section 7217 of the Code. 

(c) The renewal fee shall be paid no later than April 30th of each calendar year. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7200.7 and 7208, Business and Professions Code.  
Reference: Section 7200.7, Business and Professions Code. 

(3) Amend Section 2276 of Division 22 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
to read as follows: 

2276. Client Instruction Period. 

Each school or instructor providing a guide dog to a client shall comply with the 
following standards: 

(a) Clients training with their first guide dogs must receive instruction consisting 
of a Each school engaged in instruction of blind persons in the use of guide dogs shall 
provide a minimum of 80 15 hours theory and a minimum 30 hours practical in-harness 
instruction spread over a two to of instruction over a period of four weeks period. 

(b) Clients training with successor dogs must receive, except that with respect to 
a person who has previously completed such minimum instruction consisting of in a 
school satisfactory to the Board, a school may provide a minimum of 40 10 hours theory 
and 20 hours practical in-harness of instruction. over a period of two weeks. 

(c) The instruction must be individualized to the client and provided until the team 
achieves safe and effective guide dog mobility, until the instructor determines the team 
cannot satisfactorily complete instruction or until the client discontinues services. 

(d) The instruction may be conducted in any appropriate venue, including, but not 
limited to, in-residence at the school, in-home or a combination of both. A school may, 
when in its judgment it is necessary for proper instruction in a particular case, require 
instruction in excess of the minimums prescribed in this section. In no case shall less 
than 15 hours nor more than 25 hours of instruction be given in any one week. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 7208, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Section 7208, 7210.7 Business and Professions Code. 
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